The Start of Whole 30

Hey y’all,

Don’t mind the southern twang that I inherited from Nashville this past weekend. My friend Shanna and I had a nice relaxing visit and we ate a lot of good food. Down there it was surprisingly easy to eat paleo and make modifications to my food (if needed). Shanna is actually vegan, so the combo of a paleo and vegan diets made it a bit tricky. We both did some good research before heading down there, so it was pretty easy to find good places.

Here’s a breakdown of the weekend:
Friday we got in around 6pm and headed straight to the hotel. Once we changed and got ready, we went downtown Nashville and got the Nashville experience. It was nice out on Friday night so we found a sweet spot called Pub 5 and ate on the rooftop. I had some mussels and a cool artisan cocktail. We then headed to a bunch of the Nashville bars to catch some live music.

20140325-075611.jpg

Saturday we got up and decided to detox in hot yoga class. I luckily didn’t pass out in that hour and half class. We got lunch at the Calypso Cafe went to the Parthenon near the Vanderbilt campus. Like Zach mentioned on his last post, this was a “hole in the wall” cafe near the Vanderbilt campus that was probably the best paleo meal I had when I was down there. Mashed sweet potatoes, rotisserie chicken and a side salad. We next headed to the Parthenon in Nashville’s Centennial Park. It was a cool experience. Nashville has a few trendier, off-the-beaten-path neighborhoods, that we decided to hit up next. We went to the 12South District and then walked over to Hillsboro village. Both had really cool boutiques, restaurants and bars. We finished the night by going to a bar called Belcourt Taps and listened to 4 really talented artists there.

20140325-075601.jpg

Sunday we decided to go back and hit up the shops/restaurants that we missed on Saturday in Hillsboro village and 12South. For breakfast, we went to the Pancake Pantry and waited outside for 45 min (while listening to live music). It was well worth the wait. Shanna got pancakes and I got an omelette with lots of coffee. For lunch we went to a place called Burger Up. They had vegan options there and I had a really awesome shredded Kale salad with a grass fed burger patty on top. It was a good burger and I would highly recommend the place for their atmosphere and food.

Yesterday, I started the Whole 30 challenge with about 6 others at my gym. It is really not much different for my current diet, but it says to try to stick to 3 well balanced meals a day, no snacking, no alcohol or any added sweeteners AT ALL and limit coffee intake :(. There is actually a lot more to it than that, but that is what will be different for me. I may be a little crankier the next month because I am not eating as much, but hopefully my body gets used to it and I will feel awesome.

I pretty much decided to do it until our vacation on Easter weekend in Phoenix. It’s technically not 30 days, but I don’t plan on getting too crazy in Phoenix as it is. I am very excited to see improvements in my overall health.

I am headed to Indianapolis today for work and will be there until Friday… MORE TRAVELING. The thing I love most about traveling to Indy is that I bring my food with me. I know I am super nerdy, but I love having control of what I put on my plate. I pack breakfast and lunch and will find something good for dinner. Zach is great and is holding down the fort here. After this week, I will not be traveling for a few weeks so I can finally get back into my routine.

More info to come on how Whole 30 goes, so I hope you enjoy. If you are interested in learning more about the Whole 30 challenge, I absolutely recommend the book “It Starts With Food”. It is an eye-opening book that gives you the research and testimonials to back up why this is such a great diet.

20140325-075620.jpg

Leave a Reply

