Warm Meal for a Cold Spring Day

Hey everyone. Yet again, it has been another very busy week for Joelle and I but we have managed to make it through completely unscathed from our Paleo routine. I am officially on spring break!! I am very excited about this. For this one week I actually don’t have to pack all of my meals. I can just make them at home and eat at home. When you are full blown Paleo, it is a luxury not to have to pack every meal for the day. Is it sad that I am looking forward to that? Also, our plastic to-go containers will get a rest this week,lol. Wow, I am even talking about our to-go containers like they are human. Today I was chopping all of our veggies for the week and I was like “wow, why do we have so many containers available?”. Well, it is because I won’t be using them this week. Also, if you didn’t know Joelle has been doing some traveling this week. She spent two days in Michigan, just outside of Detroit, for a work conference. I felt so bad for her. She was running me through her day and what she was able to eat, it sounded terrible. For breakfast one morning all she had available were some grapes and a banana. She had to run on that until lunch time, so from 6:30AM to 12:30PM all she ate was some grapes and a banana. I told her I wanted to drive up there and bring her a meal. If you have been following our blog at all you know that food is our number one priority. It is literally all Joelle and I think about. Also, Joelle does not have as much patience as I do when it comes time in between meals. Sometimes Joelle gets hungry 2 hours after she eats. I don’t understand it but hey, whatever. For one of her lunches in Michigan they had sandwich wraps catered in, so she had to take the meat and veggies out of the inside of the wrap and eat that. I am sure some people were giving some odd looks but little do they know what that wrap is doing to there body. Oh and while Joelle was in Michigan we faced time for the first time!! Huge step in our relationship, lol. But really what a great invention, it was really nice to see her because I really missed her. While we were face timing I was eating dinner and I felt bad about that too. I was stuffing my face with our awesome Paleo food while she had struggled all day to find anything to eat. After Michicagn Joelle flew to Nashville. She is there for the weekend with a friend from work. She already told me she got a full Paleo meal at a little cafe they went to. She got rotisserie chicken with a curry sauce, side salad and mashed sweet potatoes with coconut shavings. That sounds like a pretty awesome Paleo meal. She was so pumped too. That is probably been here first full Paleo meal since Wednesday. For those of you that follow the blog you know that on Monday March 24th Joelle is starting her second Whole 30 challenge. This time she wants people to join her. She told me she already has seven people that are going to do it with her. I think that is awesome, there is nothing better than doing a challenge with other like minded people. It almost becomes like a support group.
So, with Joelle gone this weekend where am I going on my Paleo endeavors? Well, tonight I am making a pot of beef chipotle chocolate chili. Yes I said chocolate! This recipe is from Paleo OMG (http://paleomg.com/elk-chipotle-chocolate-chili/). Normally by this time of year I wouldn’t really be looking forward to chili but with it still being so cold out this will be a perfect meal for tonight. Really the best part about making a pot of chili is there are always leftovers. In the recipe it calls for elk but I am using ground beef tonight. My inspiration for this came from a small pumpkin that Joelle’s mom had given us. She wasn’t going to use it so of course we took it. This recipe calls for cubed pumpkin in it. I am also going to throw some cubed butternut squash in there to add some extra carbs. As for Sunday morning, I will be making those lovely sweet potato apple cinnamon pancakes that I had made last Sunday for the first time. These pancakes might become my Sunday staple. For those of you that don’t know me I used to call Sundays “pancake Sundays” because I would make these protein pancakes every Sunday. A while back when we went 100% Paleo I got rid of those. Now with the discovery of these lovely Paleo pancakes I might just have to make the return of “pancake Sundays”. They are very simple to make. All they call for is mashed sweet potato (which we always have on hand in our house), grated apple, 1 egg, cinnamon, salt and arrowroot powder. Mix it all up together and make pancakes. I will also be putting some almond butter in between these hot cakes to add a little extra goodness to them.
I have to get back into the kitchen. Time to make some chili. I will post tomorrow and let you know how it turned out, along with some pictures.

Leave a Reply

