It has been a while…..whoops.

It has been a whole week since we have posted last. I don’t really know if this week has been any more busy than any other week, but Joelle and I felt like we didn’t have time to blog at all. Joelle has felt a little bit under the weather this week. I am thinking she has the standard cold. It hasn’t become a full blown cold but she has been battling some headaches, small sore throat and a runny nose. Call me crazy but I think her Paleo diet has something to do with her not getting a full blown cold. She was kind of mad because she has made it a full year without being sick. I am still going strong but I don’t want to jinx it. Both Joelle and I have talked before about how we used to get sick more frequently before Paleo and both of us agree that eating Paleo has made the difference. We very rarely get sick anymore. It is because we are putting the right fuel in our body for it to work and providing it with all the nutrients it needs to stay strong. I don’t know if I posted about this story yet but it is a good example of what a change in diet can do for you. So…Anyone that knows me knows that I have terrible allergies. I went for 4 years of allergy shots when I was younger. They barely even helped me. I used to get the worst stuffed noses. I was waking up in the middle of the night to blow my nose, some nights I could barely breath because my nose was so stuffed. Throughout the day I would be sneezing constantly. Joelle was at me for the longest time about how my oatmeal was the  cause of my terrible allergies (Oatmeal was the last grain I eliminated from my diet), to me though this was not an easy thing to do.  I used to love my oatmeal for breakfast. I used to do oatmeal on the stove top and then add peanut butter and cinnamon to it (sounds pretty damn good huh!). Finally I gave into Joelle’s advice and gave up my oatmeal.  We saw a lot of things for butternut squash purees. I would still get the same flavor I was used to but there would be no grain. So I switched to baked and then mashed butternut squash with cinnamon, coconut milk and pecans. Ever since this switch all of my allergy problems are gone. For 24 years of my life I dealt with these terrible allergies and you are telling me all I had to do was eliminate grain from my diet and my allergy problems would vanish. It truly has been amazing how my diet has relieved something I thought I would never get rid of.

Lets get to the main reason we are here, to talk about food. So Joelle and I are still going strong on this Paleo diet. It has become an easier process with this whole Paleo thing. Our food prep is down to a science and we are buying the exact amount of food we need each week. We have been doing very well at the grocery stores lately. Especially Wal-Mart, we have been ad matching there. As always, every meal from week to week is coming directly out of our kitchen.

Alright to the food. On Thursday night Joelle made buffalo chicken spaghetti (squash). We have made this recipe before we started the new year. It is very simple but very good. Here is the link to the recipe:

http://paleomg.com/buffalo-chicken-pasta/

Along with the buffalo chicken pasta we made our standard stir fry of greens (kale, broccoli, asparagus, brussels sprouts, zucchini) . In preparation for the weekend on Thursday night, I grilled up some chicken and salmon. On Friday night Joelle and I got home from the gym and just did the salmon I had grilled the other night with veggies. We kept it simple and to the point on Friday night because we are both usually pretty hungry on Fridays coming home from the gym. On Saturday night we really did the same thing. We did chicken that was grilled from Thursday night along with greens and our favorite carrot fries that we always make. We did have a couple of parsnips so I added those in the with carrots. It was another simple night because we had to eat quick before going to a house warming party for one of Joelle’s co-workers. I guess I should mention that Joelle did have a glass of red wine at the party. I don’t want to feel like I am telling on her but I am not mad about it. I don’t mind that she has a glass of red wine every once in a while. I mean technically they could of made wine back in the paleolithic era. It could be something worse but I do have to say her glass of red wine did look very delicious. For today we are doing a new recipe. This week at the store we got boneless beef short rib that was on sale for 3.99 a pound. With the beef short rib we are making a yellow curry dish. I found this recipe on nom nom paleo. Joelle and I decide our special dinners by what kind of meat is on sale that week at the store. It just so happen that this week the succulent beef short rib was on sale (this made me very excited). We decided on that and then I started doing some research for recipes. Joelle and I have not had curry in a while so this sounded like the perfect recipe. Joelle and I used to make a lot of red curry but have never made a yellow curry. Here is a link to the recipe if you want to try it:

http://nomnompaleo.com/post/7118904494/slow-cooker-thai-yellow-curry-with-grass-fed-beef

I will post some pictures later on our dinner and what it looked like.

Leave a Reply

