What the hell just happened?

Wow oh Wow! What a week it has been for Joelle and I. This was one of those weeks where the weekend could not get here fast enough to save us and slow things down. This would explain why we have not posted all week. On Wednesday night as I was trying to leave the gym to go home my car broke down. The transmission went on it. Just a great end to a long day. Joelle then had to come pick me up. Being with out your car might be one of the worst feelings ever. I am not one who likes to ask other people for help and have to rely on others. Luckily, I have the most amazing girlfriend ever and she was a huge help. Joelle got up earlier than she usually does and drove me to work on Thursday and picked me up. During my off periods at school on Thursday I was just in a mad hunt for a new car. I have a great friend that I have made through the gym and he tracked down the exact car that I wanted during the day on Thursday. When he showed up at the gym on Thursday he had the car for me to test drive. From there I went straight to the dealership and got a deal done. But that wasn’t the end of my night there. My sister is a senior in high school and is participating in a show called “Variety Show”. It is where the students put on a 2 hour show of current and past music that the students sing and dance to. It is very impressive to watch and they work so hard to put a great show together. Well there is one song in there where all the girls dance with their fathers. My sister’s father is not in the picture but she does have four brothers. Since there are four nights of the show, my brothers and I would each take a night to dance with my sister. Yep, you guessed it. My night to dance with my sister was Thursday. I asked the dealership I was at if they could get a deal done in an hour and a half. They hustled and got the deal done. We then had to run home real quick and grab the tickets for the show and our paleo dinner to go. I made it to the show, danced with my sister and things finally started to settle down.
So, why am I telling you about this crazy two day spurt during my week. This would be the perfect opportunity to break our 100% paleo commitment. My life felt like it was upside down and do you think the one thing I want to worry about is eating paleo? All of the prep work that we do on Saturday and Sundays came into play here. With no time to barely breath Joelle and I didn’t have to worry about what we were going to eat. We had enough food prepped so we could just grab and go in a time where we wouldn’t be able to sit down and eat. We set our selves up for success. Once again, we left no doubt in our minds. We are going to stick to this 100% paleo commitment no matter what. When times got tough and we did not even have time to think, we didn’t have to worry about what we were eating. For those of you that have been in this situation before, sticking to your diet can be the one normal thing you have left in your day. Those staples are sometimes what keep us sane.
So lets take a look at our paleo experience when things got crazy. On Thursday night we came back from the dealership and put together a quick dinner in our classic plastic take-away containers. We had left over chicken, baked carrots and vegetables. We through our dinners in our containers, zapped in the microwave and ran out the door (I have some pictures of us eating while driving in the car).
Saturday night we finally had the opportunity to make a quality paleo meal and eat off of a plate. We went for an Asian theme. I cooked orange Sriracha chicken on the grill while Joelle made cauliflower rice. We also made a big side pot of veggies. The orange siracha chicken and cauliflower rice recipe came from Nom Nom Paleo (both of these are keepers). Here are the recipes…..
Orange Sriracha Chicken: http://nomnompaleo.com/post/65246577688/orange-sriracha-chicken
Cauliflower Fried Rice: http://nomnompaleo.com/post/3195098303/asian-cauliflower-fried-rice

wpid-20140123_182251.jpg

20140126-093710.jpg

20140126-093700.jpg

wpid-20140125_212132.jpg

wpid-20140125_212905.jpg

Leave a Reply

