Monday Day Off

Hey there everyone. Its Zach. I had the day off on Monday due to Martin Luther King Jr. Day. When it came to thinking Paleo for the day I did not really have much to do. I had grocery shopped on the previous Friday. I did all the food prep on Saturday. We made two big meals on Saturday and Sunday which means a lot of leftovers. One quick side note; leftovers are probably the best thing ever in a Paleo house hold. We made the ribs on Saturday night and the chili on Sunday. We have an abundance of left over protein! How awesome is that! For those of you that know what I am talking about, it is a great feeling. Okay, so back on track. So yesterday I thought, wow, I don’t have to spend really any time in the kitchen. I got up, went to the gym, ran some errands and then came home for lunch. Well of course while I am eating that is when my brain starts running. What things can I do now to be prepared for the rest of the week. Well, I had the great thought of making my lunches and dinners ahead of time for the next two days and also make Joelle’s lunch and snack for tomorrow. Yep, so there I was thinking I wouldn’t be spending anytime in the kitchen and low and behold I spent a good portion of my afternoon there, lol. I just can’t get away from that place. For those of you that have been following, my Tuesday and Wednesday schedule is non stop. I go to work, train, coach and get home at 9:30pm. I do have to say it feels pretty nice to have all of my food ready for the next two days.

For dinner yesterday it was a lot of leftovers. We did make one new thing for dinner though. I baked french fry sliced carrots that were coated in coconut oil, cumin, cinnamon, salt and pepper. So simple! Slice the carrots up (I used a mandolin slicer), put them in a big bowl, add 2-3 tbsp of melted coconut oil, 1/2 tbsp cumin, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, toss it all together so the carrots are evenly coated, put them in a single layer on a cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. I sliced up a whole bag of carrots ($1.59) and baked them. Now we have an extra veggie in the fridge for the week. I will post pictures of how they look later. I highly recommend this recipe.

2 thoughts on “Monday Day Off

Leave a Reply

