Day 3- Crockpot pulled pork chili

Hey everyone. Its Zach. Joelle and I had an interesting start to our day today. Currently, I’m still on my winter break from school but Joelle is back to work. So, me being the great boyfriend that I am, I get up with her at 6:20 am and make our breakfast and we both get on with our days. So why was the morning so interesting? We had the pleasure of waking up and finding that our power was out. So with a little creativity I had three candles lit in the kitchen providing me enough light and I used our candle lighter to get our stove going. There was no way in hell we were missing breakfast. That’s my favorite meal of the day. Then I thought about a huge dilemma. We might not have coffee! We grind our beans every morning so it is fresh. No power means no ground beans. If there is one thing Joelle and I must have each morning , it is definitely coffee. Then, right as breakfast was done cooking, like a message from god, our power flipped back on! That meant coffee. Whew! That was close.
So, for today I have something good cooking. I am trying a crockpot pulled pork chili. I got the recipe from paleomg. The recipe was very simple. Let’s think about it, anytime you get to use the crock pot it will probably be an easy recipe. We had four pounds of pork shoulder, throw some hot sauce on it, make the spice blend the recipe calls for and throw that on top of the pork. Add diced onion and red bell pepper along with diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. Let it cook for 8-10 hours and that’s it. Joelle and I will definitely let you know how it turned out. I will tell you one thing, it smells fantastic.
image

Leave a Reply

